The Consortium

See below for brief overviews of the 7 GLOCAL Consortium universities.

Founded in 1451, the University of Glasgow is the 4th oldest university in the UK and one of the largest with 16,500 undergraduates, 5,000 postgraduates and 5,000 adults in continuing education. The University of Glasgow is a member of the prestigious Russell Group of major research-led universities and a founder member of Universitas 21, an international grouping of universities dedicated to setting worldwide standards for higher education. It has over 5,000 staff and an annual turnover of £290M. Its staff make valued contributions to collaborative work with some 200 institutions around the world. It has students from over 120 different countries.

More information about the University of Glasgow

More information about Economic and Social History: The University of Glasgow hosts the largest group of economic and social historians in Scotland.

Teaching staff and research areas

The University of Barcelona is the most formidable public institution of higher education in Catalonia, catering to the needs of the greatest number of students and delivering the broadest and most comprehensive offering in higher educational courses. The UB is also the principal centre of university research in Spain and has become a European benchmark for research activity, both in terms of the number of research programmes it conducts and the excellence these have achieved.

Its own history closely tied to the history of Barcelona and of Catalonia, our university combines the values of tradition with its position as an institution dedicated to innovation and teaching excellence: a university that is as outward-looking and cosmopolitan as the city from which it takes its name.

The Faculty of Economics and Business is a centre of reference in the training of Economics, Business, Sociology and Statistics. It is the oldest Catalan faculty of economics and business and it formed the first class of economists that obtained the degree in Economics in Catalonia (1954-1959). In 2008 it merged with the School of Business Studies (founded in 1850) to create the current Faculty of Economics and Business. Internationalisation is one of the Faculty’s priorities; we offer degrees in English at undergraduate and postgraduate level and have signed more than 200 exchange mobility agreements. Our focus is on entrepreneurship as we offer students on all programmes the opportunity to complete internships in firms and public institutions.

Faculty info and video

Uppsala University is the Nordic region’s oldest university – founded in 1477 – and is ranked among the top 100 universities in the world. There are more than 40,000 students here and they are seen, heard and make their mark everywhere. The University’s nearly 5,000 researchers and teachers conduct world-leading research and offer a seemingly endless number of courses.

Among the University’s alumni there are 15 Nobel Prize laureates, of which 8 received their prizes for discoveries made during their time at Uppsala University. Carl Linnaeus, Anders Celsius and Olof Rudbeck the Elder are a few examples of prominent scientists in Uppsala University’s history.

Uppsala University is divided into three disciplinary domains: humanities and social sciences, medicine and pharmacy, and science and technology. These in turn consist of nine faculties and nearly 50 departments in total. Since 2021, Anders Hagfeldt is the University’s Vice-Chancellor.

Founded in 1913, Erasmus University Rotterdam is currently one the biggest universities of the Netherlands with a student population of 23,000 and a research community of circa 1,400. Scholars and students in seven faculties and two institutions work on global social challenges in the areas of health, wealth, governance, and culture

As part of a large global network of academic partnerships, in strategic alliance with Leiden University and Delft University of Technology and in a unique collaboration with city and port, the dynamic city of Rotterdam serves as our laboratory.

Erasmus School of History, Culture and Communication (ESHCC) is a dynamic School of the Erasmus University Rotterdam, which offers five bachelor programmes, eight masters programmes, a research masters programme and a variety of courses in the fields of History, Arts and Culture Studies, and Media & Communication.

Further information on Erasmus University Rotterdam

Campus facilities at Erasmus University Rotterdam

The Erasmus School of History, Culture and Communication (ESHCC)

ESHCC’s History Department

Established in the age of the Enlightenment (1737) and committed to its critical spirit, the “Georgia Augusta” is today one of Germany’s leading universities. Göttingen is a research university of international renown with a strong focus on research-led teaching. At the Institute for Economic and Social History teaching and research focus primarily on business history, the history of consumption and the history of globalisation in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries. We offer students two degree programs in Economic and Social History, one for undergraduates and one for graduate students.

Overall, the University is distinguished by the rich diversity of its subject spectrum particularly in the humanities, its excellent facilities for the pursuit of scientific research, and the outstanding quality of the areas that define its profile. Its Faculty of Economic Sciences is one of the largest in Germany, with over 4,300 enrolled students and key expertise in areas such as  “Governance“, “Marketing and Channel Management“ and “Integration and Development”.

For further information please visit the following sites:

University of Göttingen Website

Institute for Economic and Social History

Faculty of Economic Science


Universidad de los Andes (Uniandes) is a private, non-profit, non-denominational university founded in 1948. The University’s current academic offer includes 17 doctoral programs (more than 390 enrolled students), 109 graduate programs1 (more than 3,700 students) and 43 undergraduate programs (14,100 students), totaling 18,200 students.

Universidad de los Andes School of Management (UASM) was founded in 1972 and is one of the twelve constitutive schools within the University. The School’s mission and vision were revised in 2011 and are grounded in the University’s values of excellence, freedom, solidarity and integrity. They are reflected in the different School’s programs, and in the highly qualified, inter-disciplinary faculty that contributes to address the demands of the Colombian society.

Kyoto Imperial University was founded by imperial ordinance on 18 June 1897, the second university to be established in Japan. Kyoto University is one of the most accomplished research-oriented universities in Asia. This is due to a unique approach to education and research, which encourages the creativity and dialogue essential for groundbreaking research and discoveries. Our state-of-the art laboratories and research facilities enable students and researchers to have the hands-on practical experience that is vital to their academic development. In addition to courses in Japanese, Kyoto University offers a variety of degree courses conducted entirely in English.